Home  |  Introduction  |   Oxford Manifesto
INTRODUCTION

The "Het Laatste Nieuws Foundation" was created on 3 May 1955, with the aim of establishing the ideological scope of this Flemish newspaper for the future. The initiative was in line with an international trend in the years following World War II that strove to safeguard the independence of journalists. The trend was set by Le Monde, the Paris newspaper, in 1951 and by the British General Council of the Press in 1953. Nevertheless the Flemish case was quite specific. Unlike the foreign examples, the initiative in this case came from the newspaper’s owner, Julius Hoste, Jr., a minister in the wartime Belgian government-in-exile in London. The second original element was the explicit ideological objective underpinning the Foundation’s creation. Hoste was convinced that only a modern social liberalism, akin to the one described in the Oxford Manifesto that he and Salvador de Madariaga had drafted during the establishment of the Liberal International on 14 April 1947, could provide an effective answer to the destruction that the totalitarian Nazi regime had inflicted upon Germany and Europe.

Just prior to his death Julius Hoste had entrusted his like-minded companion and successor as head of Het Laatste Nieuws, Albert Maertens, with the task of creating a foundation that would see to it that the newspaper continued to disseminate liberal, humanist views, wholly independent from party politics. Hoste had given Maertens a list of "unimpeachable Liberals" to approach for the foundation. Thanks to the co-opting rule for new members, ideological continuity was guaranteed. Two crucial clauses are firmly anchored in the statutes of the Foundation as well as in those of the publisher, the N.V. Hoste company. First, the recruitment of all new journalists and editors-in-chief is subject to the Foundation’s prior consent. The legal force of their appointment is conditional upon their signing of the Oxford Manifesto. Secondly, the transfer of the business or of the paper’s title to a third party is possible only after said third party has subscribed to the same obligations vis-à-vis the Foundation as the previous owners, in other words, unless they accept that it is the Foundation that continues to trace out the general political direction of the newspaper. Hoste’s and Maertens’ ideological construction has proven its worth for fifty years already, even after the newspaper changed hands. The constructive cooperation with the successive PLCs is a result of the fact that the managing director of the publishing house and the editor-in-chief of the newspaper have continued to be present as observers at the meetings of the Foundation, renamed "Het Laatste Nieuws Board non-profit organisation" ("Raad Het Laatste Nieuws vzw") for legal reasons in 2004.

The existence of the Het Laatste Nieuws Board has social significance as well. The Board has always granted journalists the right to express themselves freely, free of any tactical and strategic considerations of a party-political nature, as long as they respected the Oxford Manifesto and abide by professional standards. Each time this professional honesty was threatened, the Board acted as a safety net to the press staff. But the Board also reprimanded them for their conduct when they unnecessarily targeted individual politicians instead of focussing on the content of their messages. The Board tries to strike the difficult balance between safeguarding the foundations of Flemish humanist liberalism and at the same time sounding critical signals in the daily political application of these great principles. This ought to reassure the broad segment of Flemish society that reads the "biggest Flemish newspaper" on a daily basis, a segment that is happy in the knowledge that the newspaper’s content is continually checked against the noble intellectual heritage of modern, humanist and socially-oriented liberalism.

Walter Prevenier
Chairman of the Het Laatste Nieuws Board, non-profit organisation

 

OXFORD MANIFESTO 1947

      Drawn up at the International Liberal Conference at Wadham College, Oxford, in April, 1947.

      We, Liberals of nineteen countries assembled at Oxford at a time of disorder, poverty, famine and fear caused by two World Wars;
Convinced that this condition of the world is largely due to the abandonment of liberal principles;
Affirm our faith in this Declaration:


I

1. Man is first and foremost a being endowed with the power of independent thought and action, and with the ability to distinguish right from wrong.

2. Respect for the human person and for the family is the true basis of society.

3. The State is only the instrument of the community; it should assume no power which conflicts with the fundamental rights of the citizens and with the conditions essential for a responsible and creative life, namely:
    Personal freedom, guaranteed by the independence of the administration of law and justice;
    Freedom of worship and liberty of conscience;
    Freedom of speech and of the press;
    Freedom to associate or not to associate;
    Free choice of occupation;
    The opportunity of a full and varied education, according to ability and irrespective of birth or means;
    The right to private ownership of property and the right to embark on individual enterprise;
    Consumer's free choice and the opportunity to reap the full benefit of the productivity of the soil and the industry of man;
    Security from the hazards of sickness, unemployment, disability and old age;
    Equality of rights between men and women.
4. These rights and conditions can be secured only by true democracy. True democracy is inseparable from political liberty and is based on the conscious, free and enlightened consent of the majority, expressed through a free and secret ballot, with due respect for the liberties and opinions of minorities.


II

1. The suppression of economic freedom must lead to the disappearance of political freedom. We oppose such suppression, whether brought about by State ownership or control or by private monopolies, cartels and trusts. We admit State ownership only for those undertakings which are beyond the scope of private enterprise or in which competition no longer plays its part.

2. The welfare of the community must prevail and must be safeguarded from the abuse of power by sectional interests.

3. A continuous betterment of the conditions of employment, and of the housing and environment of the workers is essential. The rights, duties and interests of labour and capital are complementary; organised consultation and collaboration between employers and employed is vital to the well-being of industry.


III

      Service is the necessary complement of freedom and every right involves a corresponding duty. If free institutions are to work effectively, every citizen must have a sense of moral responsibility towards his fellow men and take an active part in the affairs of the community.


IV

      War can be abolished and world peace and economic prosperity restored only if all nations fulfil the following conditions:

a) Loyal adherence to a world organisation of all nations, great and small, under the same law and equity, and with power to enforce strict observance of all international obligations freely entered into;
b) Respect for the right of every nation to enjoy the essential human liberties;
c) Respect for the language, faith, laws and customs of national minorities;
d) The free exchange of ideas, news, goods and services between nations, as well as freedom of travel within and between all countries, unhampered by censorship, protective trade barriers and exchange regulations;
e) The development of the backward areas of the world, with the collaboration of their inhabitants, in their true interests and in the interests of the world at large.

      We call upon all men and women who are in general agreement with these ideals and principles to join us in an endeavour to win their acceptance throughout the world.

Home  |  Présentation  |   Manifesto d'Oxford
PRÉSENTATION

La "Stichting Het Laatste Nieuws" a vu le jour le 3 mai 1955 et a reçu pour mission de perpétuer le courant idéologique du journal flamand éponyme. L’initiative s’inscrivait dans la mouvance internationale amorcée au cours des années qui suivirent la Seconde Guerre mondiale en vue de garantir l’indépendance des journalistes. Cette tendance prit corps dans le journal parisien Le Monde en 1951 et dans le General Council of the Press britannique en 1953. Le cas flamand présentait toutefois une spécificité appuyée. À l’inverse des modèles étrangers, l’initiative avait été lancée par le propriétaire du journal, Julius Hoste jr., ministre du gouvernement belge en exil à Londres. La deuxième originalité résidait dans le but idéologique marqué de l’idée fondatrice. Hoste était convaincu que seul un libéralisme social moderne – tel celui décrit sous son impulsion personnelle et celle de Salvador de Madariaga dans le Manifeste d’Oxford, à l’occasion de la création de l’Internationale Libérale le 14 avril 1947 – pouvait offrir une parade efficace aux rava¬ges causés par le régime totalitaire nazi en Europe.

Peu avant son décès, Julius Hoste avait chargé Albert Maertens, son frère spirituel et successeur à la tête de Het Laatste Nieuws, de créer une fondation qui veillerait à ce que le journal continue à véhiculer les pensées humanistes libérales, en conservant sa totale indépendance par rapport à la politique du parti. Hoste avait remis à Maertens une petite liste de «libéraux incorruptibles» susceptibles de soutenir la Fondation. La continuité idéologique fut assurée grâce à la règle de la cooptation de nouveaux membres. Deux clauses capitales sont gravées dans les statuts de la Fondation et de la maison d’édition, la S.A. Hoste. D’une part, l’engagement de tous les nouveaux journalistes et des rédacteurs en chef requiert l’approbation préalable de la Fondation. La force juridique de leur nomination est subordonnée à la signature du Manifeste d’Oxford. D’autre part, la cession du fonds de commerce et du titre du journal à des tiers peut seulement être réalisée après que ces tiers ont souscrit aux mêmes obligations envers la Fondation que celles assumées par les propriétaires précédents ; en d’autres termes, ils doivent reconnaître qu’il appartient à la Fondation de définir les lignes générales de l’orientation politique du journal. Voilà à présent cinquante ans que la construction idéologique de Hoste et Maertens prouve son efficacité, même après le passage du journal dans d’autres mains. La collaboration constructive instaurée avec les S.A. successives repose aussi sur le fait que l’administrateur délégué de la maison d’édition et le rédacteur en chef du journal assistent toujours, en qualité d’observateurs, aux réunions de la Fondation – qui, pour des raisons légales, est dénommée “Raad Het Laatste Nieuws vzw” depuis 2004.

L’existence du Raad Het Laatste Nieuws revêt également une grande importance sur le plan social. Il a toujours accordé aux journalistes la liberté de propos, pour autant qu’ils respectent le Manifeste d’Oxford et les normes de qualité professionnelles, indépendamment de toute considération tactique et stratégique liée à la politique du parti. Chaque fois que cette liberté professionnelle a été menacée, le Raad a offert un filet de sécurité adapté aux professionnels de la presse. Il arrive aussi que le Raad rappelle les journalistes à l’ordre et leur remémore les règles déontologiques en vigueur lorsqu’ils décochent de vaines attaques personnelles contre des hommes politiques au lieu de viser le contenu des messages. Le Raad tente ainsi de réussir l’exercice d’équilibre, ô combien difficile, qui consiste à préserver les fondements du libéra¬lisme humaniste flamand tout en formulant au besoin des annotations critiques quant à la traduction de ces nobles principes dans la politique du parti au quotidien - une certitude rassurante pour cette fraction considérable de la société flamande qui se plonge chaque jour dans le «plus grand journal flamand» et apprécie la confrontation quotidienne avec la noble philosophie du libéralisme moderne, humaniste et social.

Walter Prevenier
Président du Raad Het Laatste Nieuws vzw

 

MANIFESTO D'OXFORD 1947

      Conférence Libérale Internationale tenue à Wadham College, à Oxford, en Avril, 1947

      Nous, Libéraux de dix-neuf pays rassemblés à Oxford alors que règnent les désordres, la misère, la faim et la peur occasionnés par deux guerres mondiales;
Convaincus que l'état dans lequel se trouve le monde est essentiellement causé par l'abandon des principes libéraux;
Affirmons notre foi telle que la définit la Déclaration suivante:


I

1. L'homme est au premier chef un être capable d'une pensée et d'une action indépendantes, sachant distinguer le bien du mal.

2. Le respect de la personne humaine et de la famille est la base véritable de la société.

3. L'Etat n'est que l'instrument de la communauté; il ne doit assumer aucun pouvoir contraire aux droits fondamentaux du citoyen et aux conditions essentielles d'une vie responsable et créatrice, à savoir:
    la liberté personnelle, garantie par l'administration indépendante de la loi et de la justice;
    la liberté religieuse et la liberté de conscience;
    la liberté de parole et la liberté de la presse;
    la liberté d'association et de non-association;
    la liberté du choix d'un métier;
    la possibilité d'une éducation approfondie et variée, conforme aux dons de l'individu et ne dépendant ni de sa naissance, ni de ses moyens financiers;
    le droit à la libre possession de biens et la libre entreprise individuelle;
    le libre choix du consommateur et l'occasion de profiter pleinement de la productivité du sol et de l'industrie;
    la sécurité en cas de maladie, de chômage, d'infirmité et de vieillesse;
    l'égalité des droits entre hommes et femmes.
4. Seule, une véritable démocratie peut garantir ces droits. La démocratie véritable, inséparable de la liberté politique, est basée sur le consentement conscient, libre et éclairé de la majorité, exprimé par voie d'un scrutin libre et secret, les libertés et les opinions des minorités étant également respectées.


II

1. La suppression de la liberté économique entraîne inévitablement la disparition de la liberté politique. Nous sommes opposés à semblable suppression, qu'elle soit causée par les nationalisations ou les monopoles, trusts et cartels privés. Nous n'admettions que la nationalisation des entreprises dépassant les possibilités de l'entreprise privée ou dans lesquelles la concurrence ne fonctionne plus.

2. Le bien-être de la communauté doit l'emporter, et être garanti contre tout abus de pouvoir de la part de groupements d'intérêts.

3. L'amélioration constante des conditions d'emploi, de logement et de vie des travailleurs est essentielle. Les droits, devoirs et intérêts de la main d'oeuvre et du capital sont complémentaires; la consultation et la collaboration organisées entre employeurs et employés sont essentielles au bien-être de l'industrie.


III

      Qui veut être libre doit nécessairement servir, à chaque droit correspond un devoir. Pour que des institutions libres fonctionnent efficacement, chaque citoyen doit ressentir une responsabilité morale à l'égard des autres hommes, ses frères, et participer activement aux affaires de la communauté.


IV

      Pour que la guerre soit abolie et que soient restaurées la paix mondiale et la prospérité économique, toutes les nations doivent remplir les conditions suivantes:

(a) Participer loyalement à une organisation mondiale où toutes les nations, grandes et petites, obéiraient à une même équité, et qui aurait le pouvoir d'assurer la stricte observation de toutes les obligations internationales librement contractées.
(b) Respecter le droit de toute nation de jouir des libertés fondamentales de l'homme.
(c) Respecter la langue, la foi, les lois et les coutumes des minorités nationales.
(d) Permettre le libre échange des idées, des nouvelles, des biens et des services entre nations, ainsi que les libres voyages à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur des frontières nationales, sans censure, barrières douanières ni règlements des changes.
(e) Développer les régions sous-développées du monde, avec la collaboration de leurs habitants, pour leur plus grand avantage et celui du reste du monde.

      Nous faisons appel à tous les hommes et à toutes les femmes qui souscrivent, d'une façon générale, à ces idéaux et ces principes pour qu'ils se joignent à nous et s'efforcent avec nous d'en assurer l'acceptation dans le monde entier.